Type to search

Kento Momota, Lin Dan to take part in 2019 Asia Badminton Championships


Kento Momota, Lin Dan to take part in 2019 Asia Badminton Championships


WUHAN, March 26 (Xinhua) — The first batch of competitions at the 2019 Asia Badminton Championships turned introduced here on Tuesday, presenting shuttlers from China, Japan, Indonesia, and other pinnacle badminton international locations. Under event policies, it’s far obligatory for the pinnacle 10 Asian players in every one of the five classes (guys’ singles, girls’ singles, men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and blended doubles) to participate. Chinese shuttlers Lin Dan, Chen Long, and Shi Yuqi will play in the men’s singles, where global primary Kento Momota of Japan will are looking to defend his title.

Chou Tien Chen of Chinese Taipei and South Korea’s Sun Wan-Ho also are many of the name favorites. Chen Yufei, who won the ladies singles gold within the All England Open Badminton Championships, will constitute China inside the girls’ singles along with teammates He Bingjiao and Han Yue. They will face the likes of Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara and Akane Yamaguchi, P. V. Sindhu and Saina Nehwal of India, Ratchanok Intanon of Thailand, and South Korea’s Cheng Chi-Hyun.

The four Chinese pairs competing for the guys’ doubles title are Li Junhui/Liu Yuchen, He Jiting/Tan Qiang, Zhang Nan/Liu Cheng, and Han Chengkai/Zhou Haodong. Chen Qingchen/Jia Yifan, who received the All England Open Badminton Championships, will compete in the women’s doubles competition. Zheng Siwei/Huang Yaqiong and Wang Yilyu/Huang Dongping will compete on the occasion of the combined double. The 2019 Asia Badminton Championships might be held in Wuhan, China, from April 23 to 28.


MULTIPLE country full junior name winners Cheque De Boulet and Will Lee each added new feats to their already staggering young careers using triumphing their first-ever respective girls and men’s singles titles TT Badminton Association (TTBA) Senior Nationals, which concluded on Saturday. De Boulet, 19, who copped a countrywide junior triple-crown winner closing year, also finished an excellent senior triple-crown at the countrywide event, held at the National Racquet Centre, Tacarigua. Following a comprehensive victory over a couple of girls’ champion Nekeisha Blake on Friday night, De Boulet faced some other experienced player in Rhea Khan within the very last on Saturday.

De Boulet made it look smooth, sealing a 21-nine, 21-16 victory. De Boulet additionally faced Blake in another very latest, the mixed doubles. De Boulet partnered with Nathaniel Khillawan because the pinnacle seeded pair and confronted Blake and Jade Allman and received 22-20, 21-17. For the ladies doubles final, De Boulet and Johannah Walker – the top-seeded pair – defeated Sandhya Cassie and Ananda Ramsingh, 21-18, 21-12. De Boulet’s efforts were recently recognized through the TTBA, which nominated her for each of its Youth and Senior Sportswoman of the Year awards.

Meanwhile, Lee picked up two titles, the guys’ singles and the guys’ doubles. In the former, Lee had to work extra time in his look in opposition to one of the country’s most a success senior men’s gamers, Alistair Espinoza. In the quiet, Lee emerged positive, winning the men’s singles final, beating Espinoza 17-21, 21-10, 21-11. Espinoza, the TTAB’s nominee for Senior Sportsman of the Year, however, retained his guys’ doubles name, pairing with Lee, in a clean 21-9, 21-thirteen win over Allman and Vance Juteram.

Men’s Singles: 1st – Will Lee (Shuttle Force); second – Alistair Espinoza (Shuttle Force); 3rd – Sheraz Nabbie (Cristars), Jade Allman. Women’s Singles: 1st – Cheque De Boulet (Shuttle Force); 2d – Rhea Khan (PAP); 3rd – Sandhya Cassie (CBAC), Nekeisha Blake (FMT). Men’s Doubles: 1st – Alistair Espinoza & Will Lee (Shuttle Force); second – Jade Allman & Vance Juteram (FMT); third – Navin Gayapersad & Alan Umraw (Fins/Paragon), Leon Cassie & Richard Ramrattan (CBAC). Women’s Doubles:

1st – Cheque De Boulet & Johannah Walker (Shuttle Force); 2d – Sandhya Cassie & Ananda Ramsingh (CBAC); 3rd – Faith Mollah & Jada Smith (FMT), Simone George & Meera Mahabir (Samurai). Mixed Doubles: 1st – Nathaniel Khillawan & Cheque De Boulet (Shuttle Force); 2nd – Jade Allman & Nekeisha Blake (FMT); third – Navin Gayapersad & Rhea Khan (Fins/PAP), Will Lee & Johannah Walker (Shuttle Force). Doubles Over-35: 1st – Navin Gayapersad & Derek Singh (Fins/Paragon); 2nd – Ronald Clarke & Andre Lewis (Fins); 3rd – Christopher Joachim & Cedric Urquhart (Apexx/Regal Smashers), Rhea Khan & Alan Umraw (PAP/Paragon). Doubles Over-forty five: 1st – Sunil Ramadhar & Vijai Samnarine (Paragon/PAP); 2nd – Ronald Clarke & Andre Lewis (Fins); third – Kario Bernard & Mckenzie Joseph (Regal Smashers/Fins), third – Modern Asgarali & Chamanlal Ramdath (SGCSA).

Erika Norman

Travelaholic. Introvert. Certified coffee enthusiast. Beer expert. Web trailblazer. Bacon geek. Spent 2002-2009 lecturing about human growth hormone in Hanford, CA. Spent several months developing strategies for teddy bears in Prescott, AZ. Earned praised for my work exporting chess sets in the financial sector. Uniquely-equipped for working on xylophones in Africa. Uniquely-equipped for getting to know cannibalism in Salisbury, MD. Developed several new methods for developing strategies for wieners in West Palm Beach, FL.